Paper — Sources

Force Majeure and the 2026 Gulf Oil Crisis: the sources

Download the paper Each footnote in the paper ends with a reference such as “02-England/01”: the folder and the number of the file in it. This page lists every footnote with its online source and, where the source is a judgment, a statute or an official document, a copy you can open here.

Download in bulk

The 104 reproduced files, grouped by jurisdiction. Each zip includes this index as a spreadsheet (CSV) and a short guide.

What is and is not reproduced

Reproduced: judgments of the courts of England and Wales, the DIFC, Singapore, Australia and the Saudi Commercial Courts; legislation of the UAE, the DIFC, the ADGM, Saudi Arabia, Singapore and the Australian States; and official documents of governments and regulators (OFAC and the US Treasury, HM Government, the UN Security Council and the Saudi Ministry of Justice). Not reproduced, because others own the copyright: press reports, law-firm and market publications, insurance-market circulars, standard forms and books. For those, follow the online link.

Contains information licensed under the Open Justice Licence v2.0. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Other materials are reproduced from the official sources named at the top of each file; translations are identified in the paper and the Arabic text controls.

The footnotes

FnFootnote and sources
1Malay Mail (AFP), “Iran declares Strait of Hormuz closed, threatens to set ships ablaze”, 3 March 2026 (initial closure announced Saturday 28 February; IRGC declaration of 3 March); Argus Media, “QatarEnergy issues force majeure to some LNG buyers”, 3 March 2026; Joint War Committee Circular JWLA-033, 3 March 2026.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 01-Facts/41, 01-Facts/04, 08-Insurance/01
2Al Jazeera, “Saudi Arabia shuts critical oil pipeline after drone attack: what it means”, 12 September 2026; Reuters (J Saul) via EnergyNow, “Oil loadings suspended at Saudi’s Red Sea port of Yanbu, shipping sources say”, 15 September 2026; The National, “Houthis seize Yemen’s entire western coast and strategic Red Sea islands”, 11 September 2026.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 01-Facts/01, 01-Facts/08, 01-Facts/56
3Reuters via Business Standard, “Saudi Arabia restarts East–West pipeline, may resume Yanbu oil exports”, 22 September 2026; Reuters via Global Banking & Finance Review, 18 September 2026 (Aramco halts October crude deliveries to European refiners); Axios, 22 September 2026.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 10-Update/01, 10-Update/17, 10-Update/10
4Al Jazeera, 25 September 2026 (seven-day plan; Hormuz to reopen on day six); Al Jazeera, 26 September 2026 (the plan “would not be acceptable”); Reuters (J Saul) via gCaptain, 7 October 2026 (“at least 12 attacks on oil, liquefied natural gas and liquefied petroleum gas tankers” in the week 28 September to 5 October, “the highest number of attacks in a single week since the US war with Iran began on February 28”); Maritime Executive, 7 October 2026 (tanker struck north of Madinat ash Shamal, Qatar); CBS News live updates, 8 October 2026 (“we will not be attacking Iran at any time prior to the Midterm Elections”); TNND/KOMO, 8 October 2026 (the blockade “will remain in full force and effect”); Reuters via GV Wire, 8 October 2026 (Brent “closed up $4.08, or 4.1%, at $104.28”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/04, 12-Update/14, 12-Update/81, 12-Update/13, 12-Update/03, 12-Update/19, 12-Update/41
5Reuters via Baird Maritime, 29 September 2026 (Yanbu loadings about 2 mb/d); Bloomberg via Report.az, 9 October 2026 (Aramco “will supply all the crude they request for November”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/33, 12-Update/53
6Thames Valley Power Ltd v Total Gas & Power Ltd [2005] EWHC 2208 (Comm) at ¶50; RDC Concrete Pte Ltd v Sato Kogyo (S) Pte Ltd [2007] SGCA 39 at [70]; Hyundai Merchant Marine Co Ltd v Dartbrook Coal (Sales) Pty Ltd [2006] FCA 1324 at [60]–[62].
7RTI Ltd v MUR Shipping BV [2024] UKSC 18 at ¶¶38–39, 44, 59, 102.
8ADM Industries Centers Ltd v Inerco Trade SA [2026] EWHC 1873 (Comm) at ¶¶51–52.
9Civil Transactions Law, Royal Decree M/191 of 29/11/1444H (18 June 2023), arts 97, 110, 125, 174; Ministry of Justice Research Centre, شرح نظام المعاملات المدنية (Explanation of the Civil Transactions Law, 1st ed, 28 September 2026), Vol 1 pp 288–294 (art 97) and 334–336 (art 110).
10Qatar Civil Code, Law No. 22 of 2004, art 171(2) (Arabic text, Supreme Judiciary Council encyclopedia; English per the ICNL-hosted translation), art 700 (as quoted by Clyde & Co, 23 May 2022); Kuwait Civil Code, Decree-Law No. 67 of 1980, art 198 (Arabic); Bahrain Civil Code, Decree-Law No. 19 of 2001, art 130 (Arabic and English, Bahrain EDB portal); Oman Civil Transactions Law, Royal Decree 29/2013, art 159 (Arabic); QFC Contract Regulations 2005, arts 85 and 94, as described in “Contract Law of Qatar” (Cambridge University Press), ch 13 (Regulations not opened).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/08, 11-GCC/01, 11-GCC/09, 11-GCC/06, 11-GCC/10, 11-GCC/02, 11-GCC/05
11DIFC Contract Law, DIFC Law No. 6 of 2004, art 82; Collection Club Restaurant Ltd v MAG Development Services Ltd [2026] DIFC CA 006 at ¶¶18, 43–49.
12Gulf News, 8 April 2026 (two-week ceasefire; Brent −15.9 per cent to $93.38); ADNOC Operational Updates, 9 April 2026 (Dr Sultan Al Jaber: “the Strait of Hormuz is not open. Access is being restricted, conditioned and controlled”); Al Jazeera, 17 and 18 June 2026 (MoU signed; CENTCOM: “All US military blockade enforcement efforts have ceased”); Axios, 11 July 2026 (IRGC: the Strait “will be closed until further notice”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/39, 01-Facts/31, 01-Facts/36, 01-Facts/55, 01-Facts/46
13Al Jazeera, “QatarEnergy declares force majeure on some LNG contracts”, 24 March 2026 (CEO al-Kaabi: “about 17 percent of the country’s LNG export capacity”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 01-Facts/10
14The table is compiled from the following, each saved in the sources folder (01-Facts): US MARAD Alert 2026-001A (21); Malay Mail/AFP 3 Mar (41); Argus 2–3 Mar (13) and 3 Mar (04); Gulf News 4 Mar (57); JWLA-033 (19); S&P Global Platts 4 Mar (58); Business Standard 4 Mar (52); Bapco Energies press release 9 Mar (11); Al Jazeera 13 Mar (09) and 11 Mar (49); Oman Observer 11 Mar (14); Business Today 10 Mar (42); IEA (16); UNSC Res 2817 (08-Insurance/55); World Oil/Reuters 20 Mar (24); Al Jazeera 24 Mar (10); Gulf News 8 Apr (31); Malay Mail/AFP 10 Apr (46); World Oil/Bloomberg 20 Apr (12); US Treasury 27 May (08-Insurance/31); FDL 25/2025 (03-UAE/03); Latham & Watkins 3 Jul on Cabinet Resolution 94/2026 (03-UAE/43); Al Jazeera 17 and 18 Jun (36, 55); OFAC GL X1 (08-Insurance/32); Reuters via EnergyNow 6 Jul (28); UKMTO Update 068 (44); Axios 11 Jul (46); GOV.UK 13 Jul (08-Insurance/34); Al Jazeera 20 and 23 Jul and Reuters via Insurance Journal 23 Jul (25, 51); LMA5708 (08-Insurance/03); JWLA-034 (08-Insurance/02); OFAC Alert 24 Aug (08-Insurance/07); UK P&I Circular 14/26 (08-Insurance/22); IMO statement 28 Aug (47); OilPrice c. 28 Aug (46); Al Jazeera 2 and 7 Sep (37, 32); SI 2026/983 (08-Insurance/54); The National and Al Jazeera 11 Sep (56, 06); Al Jazeera 12 Sep (01); Reuters via EnergyNow 15 Sep (08); Business Recorder 14 Sep (50); OilPrice/AP (54); OilPrice via Yahoo 15 Sep (07); and, for 10–23 September, the files in 10-Update: OFAC recent actions (25), US Treasury 14 Sep (26), JWLA-035 (24), Baltic Exchange week 38 (23), Maritime Executive 21 Sep (07), AFP/UKMTO 21 Sep (08), Reuters 18 Sep (17), OilPrice 18 Sep (16), Reuters 22 Sep (01), The National 22 Sep (09), Axios 22 Sep (10), Al Jazeera 23 Sep (11), Reuters 23 Sep (04); and, for 23 September to 9 October, the files in 12-Update: OFSI 23 Sep (67), Al Jazeera 24 Sep (24), Yahoo Finance data (45), Al Jazeera 25 and 26 Sep (04, 14), Umm Al-Qura 25 Sep (89), Reuters 25 Sep (78), Edison/Teleborsa 28 Sep (38), Maritime Executive 29 Sep (15), Al-Madina 28 Sep (88), Reuters 29 Sep (33), SI 2026/983 (64), USNI 9 Oct (01), Maritime Executive 1 Oct (49), Treasury 1 Oct (61), Reuters 2 Oct (48), AFP 3 Oct (47), Report.az 4 Oct (32), OFAC 5 Oct (60), AeroCorner/GACA (07), The National 5 Oct (34), Reuters 7 Oct (43), Maritime Executive 7 and 9 Oct (13, 12), Treasury 8 Oct (59), TNND/KOMO and CBS 8 Oct (19, 03), Reuters 7 Oct (81), Reuters 8 Oct (41), Baltic Exchange week 41 (40), Bloomberg via Report.az 9–10 Oct (53).
15ADNOC press release, 7 March 2026; Bloomberg (Stapczynski and Di Paola) via Energy Connects, 8 May 2026 (“Adnoc hasn’t declared force majeure, unlike QatarEnergy”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/38, 03-UAE/37
16Global Trade Review, “Traders, buyers face disruption after wave of Gulf force majeure claims” (late March 2026), quoting Baldev Bhinder and Sumeet Malhotra.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 01-Facts/23
17Business Today, 10 March 2026; OPIS Factbox, “Countries Impose Fuel Export Restrictions During Global Energy Crisis”, 15 July 2026; Latham & Watkins, 3 July 2026 and Habib Al Mulla on Cabinet Resolution No. 94 of 2026 (the Resolution itself not opened).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 01-Facts/42, 08-Insurance/39, 03-UAE/43, 03-UAE/44
18Reuters via The Nation (Thailand), 2 October 2026 (no approvals for October exports of diesel, petrol or jet fuel); AFP via Kuwait Times, 3 October 2026 (G7 release of 100 million barrels over four months); G7 Leaders’ Statement on Global Energy Security and Market Stability, 2 October 2026; Reuters via GV Wire, 7 October 2026 (IEA).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/48, 12-Update/47, 12-Update/68, 12-Update/43
19ADNOC GTC (January 2021), arts 16.1, 17.2; QatarEnergy (QPSPP) FOB GTC (2019), cll 16.1–16.3; BP GTC 2015 v1.2, ss 73.1–73.3, 75.1.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/36, 07-Forms/37, 07-Forms/39
20Tandrin Aviation Holdings Ltd v Aero Toy Store LLC [2010] EWHC 40 (Comm) at ¶43 (Hamblen J).
21Tandrin at ¶48; Seadrill Ghana Operations Ltd v Tullow Ghana Ltd [2018] EWHC 1640 (Comm) at ¶97 (Teare J).
22RTI Ltd v MUR Shipping BV [2024] UKSC 18 at ¶92.
23MUR Shipping at ¶26; and see ¶27, quoting Chitty on Contracts (35th ed) para 27-066 and Treitel, The Law of Contract (15th ed) para 19.079 (“comparatively high hurdle”).
24Litasco SA v Der Mond Oil and Gas Africa SA [2023] EWHC 2866 (Comm) at ¶36 (Foxton J), citing Peter Dixon & Sons Ltd v Henderson Craig & Co Ltd [1919] 2 KB 778.
25Litasco at ¶37.
26Tennants (Lancashire) Ltd v CS Wilson & Co Ltd [1917] AC 495 at 510 (Earl Loreburn); the passages appear at 55 SLR 523, 526–527 in the report on BAILII ([1917] UKHL 523); see also Lord Dunedin at 529 and Lord Wrenbury at 533 on the multiple-contracts point.
27Classic Maritime Inc v Limbungan Makmur Sdn Bhd [2019] EWCA Civ 1102 at ¶¶45, 48 (Males LJ).
28Classic Maritime at ¶¶61–62.
29Classic Maritime at ¶¶83, 89 (Males LJ) and ¶93 (Rose LJ).
30Seadrill Ghana Operations Ltd v Tullow Ghana Ltd [2018] EWHC 1640 (Comm) at ¶¶75, 78–79 (Teare J), applying Intertradex SA v Lesieur-Tourteaux SARL [1978] 2 Lloyd’s Rep 509.
31MUR Shipping at ¶38; and see ¶36 (the proviso is about causation) and ¶39.
32MUR Shipping at ¶44.
33MUR Shipping BV v RTI Ltd [2022] EWCA Civ 1406 at ¶74 (Arnold LJ, dissenting), adopted at [2024] UKSC 18 ¶¶22, 51, 103.
34Reardon Smith Line Ltd v Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food [1963] AC 691 at 730 (Lord Devlin), as quoted in MUR Shipping at ¶72 and Seadrill at ¶93.
35Gravelor Shipping Ltd v GTLK Asia M5 Ltd [2023] EWHC 131 (Comm) at ¶92 (Foxton J); MUR Shipping at ¶¶98–101.
36ADNOC GTC (January 2021), art 14.3(a).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/36
37MUR Shipping at ¶39.
38Thames Valley Power Ltd v Total Gas & Power Ltd [2005] EWHC 2208 (Comm) at ¶50(1), (2), (4), (5) (Christopher Clarke J).
39Tandrin at ¶¶40, 49.
40Briety Shipping Inc v Trafigura Maritime Logistics Pte Ltd [2026] EWHC 1714 (Comm) at ¶¶237, 239, 243 (Waksman J).
41Baltic Exchange, Weekly Tanker Report, week 41, 9 October 2026 (TD3C WS1,318.75; time-charter equivalent $1,412,594 a day).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/40
42The National, 5 October 2026; Business Today (Bloomberg), 6 October 2026.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/34, 12-Update/53
43ADM Industries Centers Ltd v Inerco Trade SA [2026] EWHC 1873 (Comm) at ¶¶38, 44–45 (Paul Stanley KC).
44Oon & Bazul, “Strait of Hormuz Crisis: Managing Force Majeure and Supply Chain Risks”, 30 March 2026 (“Iranian parliament vote of 22 June 2025 to close the Strait”); Hadef & Partners, April 2026 (both secondary).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 05-Singapore/11, 03-UAE/30
45Canary Wharf (BP4) T1 Ltd v European Medicines Agency [2019] EWHC 335 (Ch) at ¶212 (Marcus Smith J).
46Herculito Maritime Ltd v Gunvor International BV (The Polar) [2024] UKSC 2 at ¶¶62–63 (Lord Hamblen), describing Abu Dhabi National Tanker Co v Product Star Shipping Ltd (The Product Star) (No 2) [1993] 1 Lloyd’s Rep 397.
47Skuld, “US/Israeli military intervention in Iran: Charterparty implications” (N Mason), 4 March 2026 (secondary).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 02-England/30
48ADM v Inerco at ¶¶51–52.
49Seadrill at ¶81.
50Seadrill at ¶79, describing Intertradex v Lesieur.
51MUR Shipping at ¶4 (clause 36.4–36.5).
52Bunge SA v Nidera BV [2015] UKSC 43 at ¶¶2–3; and see Classic Maritime at ¶79.
53MUR Shipping at ¶92.
54Davis Contractors Ltd v Fareham UDC [1956] AC 696 at 729 (Lord Radcliffe); [1956] UKHL 3. The page reference is confirmed by Lord Hailsham LC in National Carriers Ltd v Panalpina (Northern) Ltd [1981] AC 675 at 688.
55National Carriers Ltd v Panalpina (Northern) Ltd [1981] AC 675 at 700 (Lord Simon of Glaisdale); [1980] UKHL 8.
56Edwinton Commercial Corp v Tsavliris Russ (Worldwide Salvage & Towage) Ltd (The Sea Angel) [2007] EWCA Civ 547 at ¶111 (Rix LJ).
57Tsakiroglou & Co Ltd v Noblee Thorl GmbH [1962] AC 93 at 93–95 (headnote and special case), 112–116 (Viscount Simonds), 117–119 (Lord Reid).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 09-Gapfill/05
58Tsakiroglou at 113–114 (Viscount Simonds); 117–118 (Lord Reid).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 09-Gapfill/05
59Tsakiroglou at 112 (Viscount Simonds, approving Bailhache J).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 09-Gapfill/05
60MUR Shipping at ¶¶90–91, describing Ocean Tramp Tankers Corp v V/O Sovfracht (The Eugenia) [1964] 2 QB 226 at 240 (Lord Denning MR).
61Tsakiroglou at 112 (“shipment” means loading), 116 (agreeing with Pearson J in Sidermar).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 09-Gapfill/05
62The Sea Angel at ¶127; and see ¶¶103–104 (quoting Chitty 29th ed paras 23-057, 23-058) and Canary Wharf (BP4) T1 Ltd v European Medicines Agency [2019] EWHC 335 (Ch) at ¶¶211–212.
63J Lauritzen AS v Wijsmuller BV (The Super Servant Two) [1989] EWCA Civ 6; [1990] 1 Lloyd’s Rep 1 (Bingham LJ); and see the five propositions as quoted in Canary Wharf v EMA at ¶24.
64Thames Valley Power v Total at ¶6 (standard condition 15.3).
65Law Reform (Frustrated Contracts) Act 1943, ss 1(2), 1(3), 2(3), 2(5)(a)–(b).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 02-England/13
66ADGM Application of English Law Regulations 2015, s 1 and Schedule.
67Celestial Aviation Services Ltd v UniCredit Bank GmbH [2024] EWCA Civ 628 at ¶¶103, 105–106 (Falk LJ); Banco San Juan Internacional Inc v Petroleos de Venezuela SA [2020] EWHC 2937 (Comm) at ¶¶62, 77, 79, 84 (Cockerill J).
68GTLK Malta Four Ltd v Pola Maritime Ltd [2026] EWHC 2514 (Comm) at ¶46, applying Celestial Aviation at ¶68.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/83
69Lamesa Investments Ltd v Cynergy Bank Ltd [2020] EWCA Civ 821 at ¶¶35, 40, 45 (Sir Geoffrey Vos C).
70Tonzip Maritime (Singapore) Pte Ltd v 2 Rivers Pte Ltd [2026] EWCA Civ 641 at ¶¶38, 58, 89 (Foxton LJ); Ceto Shipping Corp v Savory Shipping Inc [2025] EWHC 2033 (Comm) at ¶243 (Cockerill J).
71UK Supreme Court, UKSC/2026/0103, permission to appeal refused 6 October 2026.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/84
72Litasco at ¶¶37–38, 40 (quoting Scrutton LJ’s “Mr Micawber” passage).
73BIMCO CONWARTIME 2013, cl (a)(ii); VOYWAR 2025, cl (a)(iii).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/02, 07-Forms/05
74Pacific Basin IHX Ltd v Bulkhandling Handymax AS (The Triton Lark) [2011] EWHC 2862 (Comm) at ¶¶40, 55 (Teare J); (No 2) [2012] EWHC 70 (Comm) at ¶¶11–12.
75CONWARTIME 2013, cl (b), and BIMCO Special Circular No. 5 (2013) explanatory notes (the amendment responds to The Paiwan Wisdom [2012] EWHC 1888 (Comm) at ¶16); CONWARTIME 2025, cl (b).
76Taokas Navigation SA v Komrowski Bulk Shipping KG (The Paiwan Wisdom) [2012] EWHC 1888 (Comm) at ¶¶11, 16–17, 20 (Teare J).
77Olam International Ltd v Pacific Basin Supramax Ltd (The Grande Island) [2026] EWHC 2136 (Comm) at ¶¶107, 123.
78The Polar [2024] UKSC 2 at ¶¶43–44 (Lord Hamblen), describing Kodros Shipping Corp v Empresa Cubana de Fletes (The Evia) (No 2) [1983] 1 AC 736 (not opened).
79The Polar at ¶¶56–57, 74.
80NorthStandard, “Persian Gulf Hostilities – Charterparty FAQs”, 2 April 2026; Japan P&I Club, “Navigating the Chaos”, 15 April 2026 (both secondary).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/20, 07-Forms/22
81CONWARTIME 2013, cl (d)–(e); CONWARTIME 2025, cl (a)(ii), (d) and explanatory notes (“to cover the scenarios where it may become stuck in such a location”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/02, 07-Forms/04
82CONWARTIME 2013 cl (d) (“proceeds to or through”); CONWARTIME 2025 explanatory notes (“to cover the scenarios where it may become stuck in such a location”); IMO statement, 28 August 2026.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/02, 07-Forms/04, 01-Facts/47
83The Polar [2024] UKSC 2 at ¶¶48, 57, 74.
84The Polar at ¶¶93, 99.
85Searches of the National Archives Find Case Law service for “Hormuz”, “force majeure”, “war risks”, “frustration”, “sanctions clause” and “Iran”, 23 September and 10 October 2026 (12-Update/82). Naftiran Intertrade Co (NICO) Ltd v Greenland Ltd [2026] EWHC 2418 (Comm) (22 September 2026) concerns unpaid invoices for Iranian crude and records, without deciding, a pleaded EU-sanctions illegality defence; it is not a crisis case.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/82, 10-Update/30
86Mercuria Energy Trading SA v Baltic Exchange Information Services Ltd [2026] EWHC 1942 (Comm) at ¶¶2–5 (Andrew Baker J). The trade press reports the trial as listed for 15 days from 26 October 2026 (Splash247, 28 May 2026; Lloyd’s List); I have not confirmed that against the court list, and I have seen no report of an adjournment or settlement by 10 October 2026.
87ADGM Application of English Law Regulations 2015, s 1(1)–(2) and Schedule.
88AC Network Holding Ltd v Polymath Ekar SPV1 [2023] ADGMCA 0002 (Lord Hope), as described by Gibson Dunn, 29 November 2023 (secondary; judgment not opened).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/27
89Federal Law No. 5 of 1985 (Civil Transactions Law), arts 249, 273, 287 (official portal translation). Art 249: “If exceptional circumstances of a public nature which could not have been foreseen occur as a result of which the performance of the contractual obligation, even if not impossible, becomes oppressive for the obligor so as to threaten him with grave loss, it shall be permissible for the judge … to reduce the oppressive obligation to a reasonable level if justice so requires, and any agreement to the contrary shall be void.” Art 273(1): “In contracts binding on both parties, if force majeure supervenes which makes the performance of the obligation impossible, the corresponding obligation shall cease, and the contract shall be automatically cancelled.”
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/02, 03-UAE/01
90Federal Decree-Law No. 25 of 2025 Promulgating the Civil Transactions Law, issued 1 October 2025; Decree art 2 (repeal of Federal Law No. 5 of 1985) and art 3 (entry into force 1 June 2026).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/03
91FDL 25/2025, arts 224, 236, 249, 336, 428, 829, 835, 837, 839 (bilingual text and official portal).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/03, 03-UAE/04
92FDL 25/2025, art 224 (English per the bilingual text at 03-UAE/03, marked as an unofficial translation; the official portal extract at 03-UAE/04 confirms the opening words).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/03, 03-UAE/04
93FDL 25/2025, art 236(1)–(3) (English per the bilingual text at 03-UAE/03; official portal wording of para 1 at 03-UAE/04).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/03, 03-UAE/04
94FDL 25/2025, art 829(3); and see art 829(1) (lump-sum contractor may not demand an increase for rises in the price of materials or wages).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/03
95Mayer Brown (Moore, Ugalde Revilla, Sobek, Sinjab), “Examining the New UAE Civil Code Part 1: Force Majeure, Exceptional Circumstances and Relief in Times of Crisis”, 19 May 2026 (secondary).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/05
96FDL 25/2025, arts 3(4) and 4(1).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/03
97Habib Al Mulla (Al Mulla & Ehab), “The New Civil Code and Existing Contracts: Non-Retroactivity and Public Order in Focus”, 25 June 2026 (secondary; no case number given).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/06
98Dubai Court of Cassation 268/290 of 2009, as translated by Afridi & Angell (ACC slides, 11 March 2020); Dubai Court of Cassation 188/2009 and 730/2015, as quoted by Rubert & Partners (secondary only).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/18, 03-UAE/19
99Abu Dhabi Court of Cassation 835 of 2021 and 512 of 2021; Dubai Court of Cassation 479 of 2021, as reported by Al Tamimi (Gaffney and Anani), “Recent UAE Judgments: Force Majeure and Covid-19 in the UAE” (secondary only).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/09
100Dubai Court of Cassation (2013, unnumbered), reported by Al Tamimi, Law Update, October 2013 (seven conditions); Abu Dhabi Court of Cassation 73/15 of 2007 and Federal Supreme Court 45/4 of 2007, reported by Afridi & Angell (secondary only).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/08, 03-UAE/18
101Dubai Court of Cassation Commercial Case No. 1 of 2024, as reported by K&L Gates (Paterson and Rwashdeh), “Conflict in the Middle East: Rights and Remedies under the Laws of the UAE”, 17 March 2026 (secondary only; not otherwise corroborated).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/10
102Cassation Appeal No. 624 of 2025 (Real Estate), as reported by Horizons & Co, 10 March 2026 (secondary only).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/13
103Old art 249 / new art 224 (“any agreement to the contrary shall be void”); Al Tamimi, 9 March 2026; Pinsent Masons, 18 March 2026; Habib Al Mulla, 15 April 2026 (secondary).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/41, 03-UAE/11, 03-UAE/14
104Old art 287 / new art 249; Federal Decree-Law No. 50 of 2022 (Commercial Transactions Law), art 2(1), (3); K&L Gates, 17 March 2026 (“Express force majeure provisions in contracts governed by UAE law will generally be enforceable. Similarly, contractual notice requirements … will usually be upheld”); Charles Russell Speechlys 2026; Habib Al Mulla, 16 and 21 April 2026 (secondary).
105Dubai Department of Economy and Tourism, Dubai Chambers and Baker McKenzie, “UAE Force Majeure Guidebook”, 25 September 2026, as reported by Emarat Al Youm, 27 September 2026 (the guidebook itself not opened).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/91
106Cabinet Resolution No. 94 of 2026 (1 June 2026), as described by Latham & Watkins, 3 July 2026 and Habib Al Mulla (secondary; Resolution not opened).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/43, 03-UAE/44
107FDL 43/2023 (Maritime Law), arts 130, 142, 143(1)(b), 145(4)–(5), 147(2), 153(1)–(2); art 288 (war risks excluded from marine insurance unless agreed).
108IBA (Samer Abou Said and Loaa Zaarour, Moaza Alkhadar), “Impact of exceptional circumstances on UAE construction contracts: the Strait of Hormuz context”, 1 October 2026 (secondary; judgment not seen; no case number given).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/91
109Old arts 893–895; FDL 25/2025 arts 829(3), 835, 839(2); Habib Al Mulla, “FIDIC contracts and the conflict”, 21 April 2026 (courts insist on contemporaneous sub-clause 19.2 notices) (secondary).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/01, 03-UAE/03, 03-UAE/16
110DIFC Contract Law, DIFC Law No. 6 of 2004 (consolidated 2024), art 82(1)–(4); art 83 (payment); art 84(b) (no specific performance where “unreasonably burdensome or expensive”); art 11 (parties may exclude or vary).
111The Collection Club Restaurant Ltd v MAG Development Services Ltd [2026] DIFC CA 006 at ¶¶18, 43–45, 48 (24 April 2026).
112DIFC Contract Law, Part 8 (arts 77–91): arts 79–81 concern withholding performance, cure and additional time; there is no equivalent of UNIDROIT arts 6.2.1–6.2.3.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/21
113DIFC Law No. 3 of 2004, art 8 as amended 21 November 2024, and The Industrial Group Ltd v Hamid [2022] DIFC CA 005 and 006 at ¶¶105–120, as described by Littleton Chambers, 17 February 2025 (secondary; statute and judgment not opened).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/28
114Rohan v Daman Real Estate Capital Partners Ltd [2013] DIFC CA 005 and 006 (16 October 2014) at ¶¶24, 26; DIFC Investments LLC v Zia [2017] DIFC CFI 001 at ¶88.
115DIFC Arbitration Law, DIFC Law No. 1 of 2008 (consolidated December 2013), art 41(2)(b)(iii) and art 44(1)(b)(ii).
116Federal Law No. 6 of 2018 on Arbitration, arts 2(1), 53(1)(e), 53(2)(b) (MoJ translation).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/34
117DIAC Arbitration Rules 2022, art 20.1 (text from the chambers arbitration-rules corpus; Mayer Brown, 7 April 2022, to the same effect).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 03-UAE/36, 03-UAE/35
118IBA, “Saudi Civil Transactions Law: substantive contract rules and cross-border litigation”; US Federal Judicial Center, Judiciaries Worldwide, Saudi Arabia country profile; GlobaLex (Ansary), “A Brief Overview of the Saudi Arabian Legal System” (all secondary).
119Civil Transactions Law (نظام المعاملات المدنية), Royal Decree M/191 of 29/11/1444H; art 721 (commencement 180 days after publication in Umm al-Qura); WIPO Lex record (entry into force 17 December 2023; most firms use 16 December 2023).
120CTL arts 1, 720 (rules 16–23).
121CTL art 2.
122Ministry of Justice Research Centre, شرح نظام المعاملات المدنية (Explanation of the Civil Transactions Law, 1st ed, 28 September 2026), Vol 1 pp 5–9 (foreword and introduction); Al-Madina, 28 September 2026 (issued in four parts with the approval of the Minister of Justice). I have used an unofficial English translation prepared for me; the Arabic controls.
123Ministry of Justice Research Centre, شرح نظام المعاملات المدنية (Explanation of the Civil Transactions Law, 1st ed, 28 September 2026), Vol 1 pp 334–336 (art 110); Vol 2 pp 353–356 (art 294).
124CTL art 110(1)–(2) (English per BLK Partners and Pinsent Masons quoting the official translation); art 294 (extinction of the obligation generally); art 111 (restitution; no retroactive effect for continuing contracts).
125CTL arts 125, 170(3), 171 (English per King & Spalding and BLK).
126Ministry of Justice Research Centre, شرح نظام المعاملات المدنية (Explanation of the Civil Transactions Law, 1st ed, 28 September 2026), Vol 1 pp 379–381 (art 125); Vol 2 pp 47–48 (art 174).
127CTL art 174 («يجوز الاتفاق على أن يتحمل المدين تبعة القوة القاهرة»); Pinsent Masons (Alsugari), 11 March 2026: “force majeure is not a mandatory rule of public policy … where parties have included a force majeure clause in their contract, that clause should take precedence.”
128Ministry of Justice Research Centre, شرح نظام المعاملات المدنية (Explanation of the Civil Transactions Law, 1st ed, 28 September 2026), Vol 2 pp 47–48 (art 174).
129CTL art 173.
130CTL art 97(1)–(4) (Arabic; English per BLK and Pinsent Masons); Covington, 1 December 2023 (“this provision of the CTL is mandatory”). The Arabic requires the circumstances to be عامة (general).
131CTL art 114 (Arabic).
132Ministry of Justice Research Centre, شرح نظام المعاملات المدنية (Explanation of the Civil Transactions Law, 1st ed, 28 September 2026), Vol 1 pp 288–294 (art 97).
133CTL arts 471(1), 471(3), 476, 477 (Arabic; the description of 471(1) is my summary of the Arabic, cf Covington’s paraphrase; the English of 471(3) is Pinsent Masons’ rendering, 11 March 2026).
134Pinsent Masons, 11 March 2026; Kirkland & Ellis, “The Impact of the Saudi Civil Transactions Law on Major Project Delivery”, April 2024 (secondary).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 04-Saudi/46, 04-Saudi/08
135Ministry of Justice Research Centre, شرح نظام المعاملات المدنية (Explanation of the Civil Transactions Law, 1st ed, 28 September 2026), Vol 3 pp 395–397 (art 471).
136Ministry of Justice Research Centre, شرح نظام المعاملات المدنية (Explanation of the Civil Transactions Law, 1st ed, 28 September 2026), Vol 2 pp 55–62 (arts 178–179).
137CTL arts 178, 179(1)–(4), 180.
138HKA, “Litigating Construction Disputes in Saudi Arabia” (2026), on GTPL arts 72 and 74 and the Board of Grievances; Pinsent Masons, 15 March 2021, on High Order 61 (both secondary; the GTPL and the High Order not opened).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 04-Saudi/42, 04-Saudi/16
139Minister of Finance Decision No. 257 of 29/3/1448H, Umm Al-Qura, 25 September 2026 (Arabic text), replacing art 113 of the Implementing Regulations of the Government Tenders and Procurement Law.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/89
140Ministry of Finance, summary of the principal amendments to the Government Tenders and Procurement Law 1448H; Clyde & Co, 1 October 2026; Greenberg Traurig, August 2026 (secondary).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/90, 10-Update/35
141Royal Decree M/191, cll خامساً and سادساً (Arabic text at nezams.com; corroborated by King & Spalding, Pinsent Masons, Covington, IBA, Fenwick Elliott, HKA).
142Supreme Court General Assembly Decision No. 45/M dated 8/5/1442H (Arabic full text as republished by Manie Law), paras أولاً, ثانياً(ب), رابعاً; English of the principles per CMS (15 March 2021), DLA Piper (May 2021) and Pinsent Masons (15 March 2021); the translation of para رابعاً(2) in the text is mine.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 04-Saudi/17, 04-Saudi/14, 04-Saudi/13, 04-Saudi/16
143Commercial Court Riyadh, judgment 433737167 of 8/12/1443H (7 July 2022); Riyadh 4430161433 of 23/3/1444H (19 October 2022), affirmed 19/1/1445H; Riyadh 4430688089 of 28/8/1444H (20 March 2023); Madinah 4430513368 of 7/4/1444H (1 November 2022), affirmed; Dammam 4430347184 of 11/5/1444H (5 December 2022), all from the MoJ Legal Portal (party names anonymised by the portal in five of the six files saved; the Dammam judgment is not).
144Commercial Court Riyadh, judgment 4530165162 of 29/2/1445H (2023), cl 11 of the contract.
145Commercial Court Madinah, judgment 4830029013 of 9/1/1448H (24 June 2026) (status order only; no ruling on the point).
146Pinsent Masons (Alsugari), 11 March 2026 (secondary; no citations); Al Tamimi (El Haggan and Anani), “Navigating the Concept of Exceptional Circumstances in Saudi Construction Contracts”, September 2025, reporting Administrative Court Cases 1951/1406H and 2375/1425H (secondary; not opened).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 04-Saudi/46, 04-Saudi/44
147Reuters, 9 April 2026 (quoting the Ministry statement verbatim); Saudi Press Agency, “Official Source at Ministry of Energy”, 9 April 2026.
148Ministry of Justice Research Centre, شرح نظام المعاملات المدنية (Explanation of the Civil Transactions Law, 1st ed, 28 September 2026), Vol 1 pp 288–294 (art 97); Vol 4 about p 265 (art 720, rule 21).
149DWF, “Force majeure, hardship and contractual relief in the GCC”, 6 March 2026; Khoshaim & Associates, “Regional Conflict: key legal consequences for businesses in Saudi Arabia”, 2026; Norton Rose Fulbright, 2026 (all secondary).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 04-Saudi/49, 04-Saudi/48, 04-Saudi/47
150Saudi Arabian Oil Company, Base Prospectus, 1 April 2019 (Global Medium Term Note Programme), p 40 (“Upstream Liquids Sales”) and p 119 (Concession force majeure and national-emergency provisions).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 09-Gapfill/09
151S&P Global Platts, “Rare resale of Arab Light crude seen in China”, 9 June 2020 (secondary).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 04-Saudi/26
152Arbitration Law, Royal Decree M/34 of 24/5/1433H (2012), arts 2, 25(1), 38(1), 50(2), 55(2)(B) (English translation).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 04-Saudi/27
153HSF Kramer, “Arbitration in Saudi Arabia: unpacking the SCCA’s landmark country report”, July 2026 (secondary).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 04-Saudi/28
154Pinsent Masons, “Saudi Civil Code: need to know for construction projects”, 12 January 2024; Lexis Middle East / Dentons practice note on enforcement, 1 February 2023 (secondary).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 04-Saudi/07, 04-Saudi/55
155Al Tamimi (Khaled Youssef), “Force Majeure and Exceptional Circumstances under Kuwaiti Law: What You Need to Know”, 9 March 2026 (KPC declaration of 8 March 2026, secondary); Bapco Energies press release, 9 March 2026 (Sources folder 01-Facts/11); Al Jazeera, 24 March 2026 (QatarEnergy).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 01-Facts/11, 11-GCC/07, 01-Facts/10
156Qatar Civil Code, Law No. 22 of 2004, art 171(2): Arabic text from the Supreme Judiciary Council legal encyclopedia; English per the translation hosted by ICNL (status not stated).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/08, 11-GCC/01
157The Arabic reads “حوادث استثنائية عامة” (general exceptional events).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/08
158Qatar Civil Code, art 188(1)–(2) (Arabic, SJC encyclopedia; English per ICNL).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/08, 11-GCC/01
159Qatar Civil Code, arts 256, 258 (English per ICNL); and see art 204 (tort: no liability for damage from a cause beyond control “unless there is a provision to the contrary”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/01
160Qatar Civil Code, art 700, as quoted by Clyde & Co, “Increased costs under a Qatari construction contract”, 23 May 2022 (secondary; Arabic not seen).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/09
161Law No. 2 of 2017 on Arbitration in Civil and Commercial Matters, art 33(3) (Arabic, QICDRC-hosted text).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/13
162QFC Contract Regulations 2005, arts 2(1), 85, 94, as described in “The Contract Regulations of the Qatar Financial Centre”, ch 13 of Contract Law of Qatar (Cambridge University Press), pp 204–220 (secondary; the Regulations were not opened, and the article numbers should be checked against the current (2024) version).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/05
163Kuwait Civil Code, Decree-Law No. 67 of 1980, art 198: “بأن يضيق من مداه أو يزيد في مقابله” (Arabic text from wikikuwait and Al-Jarida, 9 August 2020; the two sources differ by one word in the opening phrase, and neither is an official gazette text).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/06
164Kuwait Civil Code, arts 215 and 437 (Arabic, as reproduced by mohamah.net, 2 November 2018); and art 233 (no liability for damage from an extraneous cause “unless there is a provision to the contrary”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/06
165Kuwait Court of Cassation 198/2001 (18 May 2002) and 103/2007 (9 October 2008), as reported by mohamah.net (secondary only; judgments not seen).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/06
166Code of Civil and Commercial Procedure, Decree-Law No. 38 of 1980, art 187, as quoted in GAR, Middle Eastern and African Arbitration Review 2026 (secondary; the annulment grounds in art 186 not obtained).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/13
167Bahrain Civil Code, Decree-Law No. 19 of 2001, art 130 (English and Arabic, bahrainbusinesslaws.com (Bahrain EDB); the translation’s status is not stated).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/10
168Bahrain Civil Code, arts 145, 146, 165, 216, 218, 219 (English per the EDB portal).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/10
169Bahrain Court of Cassation, Challenge No. 206 J.Y. 1995 and Challenge No. 145 J.Y. 2002, as reported by Charles Russell Speechlys, 2026 (secondary only; judgments not seen).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/11
170Law No. 9 of 2015 promulgating the Arbitration Law, art 1 and annexed Model Law art 34(2)(b)(ii).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/13
171Oman Civil Transactions Law, Royal Decree 29/2013, art 159 (Arabic from qanoon.om, giving Official Gazette No. 1012 of 12 May 2013; English per CMS, Force Majeure Guide: Oman, 2020 (unofficial)).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/02, 11-GCC/03
172Curtis, “Conflict in the Middle East: Implications for Construction Contracts in Oman”, 18 March 2026 (secondary).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/04
173Oman Civil Transactions Law, art 172(1)–(2) (Arabic, qanoon.om; the text obtained is incomplete between the rule on temporary impossibility and the creditor’s right to terminate, and should be checked against the Official Gazette); and see art 177 (no liability for damage from an extraneous cause “unless the law or the agreement provides otherwise”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/02
174Arbitration Law, Royal Decree 47/97, art 53(2) (Curtis translation, 2013).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 11-GCC/13
175Magenta Resources (S) Pte Ltd v China Resources (S) Pte Ltd [1996] SGHC 122 at [64] (S Rajendran J), approved in RDC Concrete Pte Ltd v Sato Kogyo (S) Pte Ltd [2007] SGCA 39 at [57]; RDC Concrete at [53]–[54] (Andrew Phang JA).
176RDC Concrete at [51], [64]–[65], [80].
177RDC Concrete at [70], [74].
178Holcim (Singapore) Pte Ltd v Precise Development Pte Ltd [2011] SGCA 1 at [53]–[54], [56], [62]–[64].
179Holcim at [57]–[58].
180Holcim at [53]; Alliance Concrete Singapore Pte Ltd v Sato Kogyo (S) Pte Ltd [2014] SGCA 35 at [39].
181Holcim at [66], [69]–[71], [100].
182Alliance Concrete at [33], [37]–[39], [50]–[55], [81], [100].
183Alliance Concrete at [62], [83], [98]–[102].
184Oon & Bazul, 30 March 2026 (secondary),
Online sourceNot reproduced: 05-Singapore/11, 05-Singapore/04
185Magenta Resources [1996] SGHC 122 at [68]–[69], [103]–[107]; China Resources (S) Pte Ltd v Magenta Resources (S) Pte Ltd [1997] SGCA 2 at [61]–[63].
Online sourceNot reproduced: 05-Singapore/05, 05-Singapore/06
186Frustrated Contracts Act 1959 (2020 Rev Ed) (Singapore), ss 2(1)–(4), 3(3), 3(5); Sale of Goods Act 1979 (2020 Rev Ed) (Singapore), ss 6–7.
187Oon & Bazul, “Strait of Hormuz Crisis: Managing Force Majeure and Supply Chain Risks”, 30 March 2026; Rajah & Tann, “The Hormuz Effect”, 13 April 2026 (both secondary; the PSSCOC, SIA and REDAS forms were not opened).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 05-Singapore/11, 05-Singapore/10
188Hyundai Merchant Marine Co Ltd v Dartbrook Coal (Sales) Pty Ltd [2006] FCA 1324 at [60]–[62] (Kiefel J).
189World Touring Melbourne Ltd v Australian Grand Prix Corporation [2024] VSC 521 at [204]–[206], [215]–[217] (Croft J).
190Yara Nipro Pty Ltd v Interfert Australia Pty Ltd [2010] QCA 128 at [26], [29], [31]–[32], [37] (Fraser JA), adopting Lord Mustill’s three-limb test in Hoecheong Products Co Ltd v Cargill Hong Kong Ltd [1995] 1 WLR 404 at 409.
191AGL Sales (Qld) Pty Ltd v Dawson Sales Pty Ltd [2009] QCA 262 at [7], [36]–[37], [68]–[69], [112].
192Alumina and Bauxite Company Ltd v Queensland Alumina Ltd [2024] FCA 43 at [357], [360]–[363], [369]–[372] (O’Bryan J); [2024] FCAFC 142 at [19], [178], [224].
193Electricity Generation Corporation v Woodside Energy Ltd [2014] HCA 7 at [3]–[8], [13], [41]–[43], [46]–[49] (French CJ, Hayne, Crennan and Kiefel JJ); Gageler J dissenting on construction; fn 42 (force majeure “of no relevance to the facts”).
194Codelfa Construction Pty Ltd v State Rail Authority of NSW (1982) 149 CLR 337 at 357 (Mason J), 380 (Aickin J).
195Codelfa at 381–382 (Aickin J).
196Scanlan’s New Neon Ltd v Tooheys Ltd (1943) 67 CLR 169 (Latham CJ at paras 6–7, 10).
197Laundy Hotels (Quarry) Pty Ltd v Dyco Hotels Pty Ltd [2023] HCA 6 at [21], [28], [41].
198West End Landco Pty Ltd v Medina Property Services Pty Ltd [2025] VSC 544 at [172], [175]–[176] (Delany J).
199Frustrated Contracts Act 1978 (NSW), ss 5–7, 13; Australian Consumer Law and Fair Trading Act 2012 (Vic), Part 3.2, ss 35–36, 41; Frustrated Contracts Act 1988 (SA), ss 4–5, 7; Sale of Goods Act 1923 (NSW), ss 11–12.
200BIMCO CONWARTIME 2004 cll (a)(ii), (b), (d); CONWARTIME 2013 cll (a)(ii), (b), (d), (e), (h), (j); CONWARTIME 2025 cll (a)–(i); VOYWAR 2004, 2013 and 2025 (all from bimco.org with explanatory notes).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/14, 07-Forms/02, 07-Forms/04, 07-Forms/10, 07-Forms/03, 07-Forms/05
201CONWARTIME 2013, BIMCO Special Circular No. 5 (16 July 2013), explanatory notes on The Triton Lark and The Paiwan Wisdom.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/02
202Swedish Club (with Adams & Moore), “War Risks Clauses in Charter Parties”, July 2025; Skuld (Veal and Winter), “Iran-Israel conflict and the Strait of Hormuz: Charterparty implications”, 18 June 2025 (both secondary); CONWARTIME 2025 explanatory notes.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/30, 07-Forms/19, 07-Forms/04
203CONWARTIME 2013 cl (b); CONWARTIME 2025 cl (b); VOYWAR 2025 cl (f)(vi) and explanatory notes.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/02, 07-Forms/04, 07-Forms/05
204Swedish Club, July 2025 (“That wording has not yet been tested by the courts”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/30
205Japan P&I Club, “Navigating the Chaos”, 15 April 2026 (secondary); VOYWAR 2013 cl (b)–(d); VOYWAR 2025 explanatory notes on cl (f)(vi).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/22, 07-Forms/03, 07-Forms/05
206CONWARTIME 2004 cl (d)(ii); CONWARTIME 2013 cl (d); CONWARTIME 2025 cl (a)(ii), (d) and explanatory notes.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/14, 07-Forms/02, 07-Forms/04
207CONWARTIME 2013 cl (h); VOYWAR 2013 cl (d); VOYWAR 2025 cll (b)–(d) and explanatory notes.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/02, 07-Forms/03, 07-Forms/05
208VOYWAR 2013 cl (b); VOYWAR 2025 cl (b); BIMCO War Cancellation Clause 2004; NorthStandard, “Persian Gulf Hostilities – Charterparty FAQs”, 2 April 2026 (“Contracts should be checked carefully to see if they list, e.g. USA, Israel, Iran”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/03, 07-Forms/05, 07-Forms/06, 07-Forms/20
209SHELLTIME 4 (December 1984), cl 33, as reproduced in an executed charter filed with the US SEC (Exhibit 10.4, Granite Shipping/Frontline, 1 January 2004).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/28
210BIMCO News, “Remember the BIMCO War Risks Clauses”, 3 March 2026.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/23
211BIMCO Force Majeure Clause 2022, cll (a), (b)(i)–(vii), (c)(i), (e), (f), (g), with explanatory notes (the “generally imposed trading restrictions” limb “not intended to cover sanctions”; “obstruction of waterways” aimed at the Ever Given; termination limb “mimics the English law ‘doctrine of frustration’”; “Caution is urged when including the clause in a period time charter party with a broad trading area”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/01
212SHELLVOY 6 (March 2005), Part II, cll 32, 34(1)–(5) (BIMCO idea print, third-party hosted copy).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/29
213SHELLTIME 4, cll 27, 33, 34, 35(a)–(c).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/28
214BPVOY4 cl 39 and the bespoke “War Risk Clause” and “Gulf of Aden Clause”, as reproduced in the Annex to The Polar [2024] UKSC 2.
215ASBATANKVOY (October 1977), Part II cll 19, 20(a), 20(vi)(a)–(c), 24; Penningtons Manches Cooper, “ASBATANKVOY 2025 – rejuvenated after 48 years”, 16 December 2025 (secondary; the 2025 form not opened).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/26, 07-Forms/27
216ADNOC Crude, Condensate and LPG General Terms and Conditions (January 2021), arts 12.2, 14.1, 14.2(b), 14.2(h), 14.3(a)–(c), 14.9, 14.12, 16.1, 17.2.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/36
217QatarEnergy (Qatar Petroleum for the Sale of Petroleum Products Co Ltd), General Terms and Conditions for FOB Sale and Purchase of Bulk Oil (1 January 2019), cll 14.1, 15.1, 15.1(g), (k), 15.4, 15.6, 16.1.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/37
218BP Oil International Ltd, General Terms and Conditions for Sales and Purchases of Crude Oil and Petroleum Products (2015 edition, v1.2), ss 12.2.2, 12.3.1, 61.1, 65.1–65.5, 71.1.2, 71.2.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/39
219Maersk Oil Trading, FOB Cargo Sales Terms (incorporating the BP GTCs 2015 v1.2 and cross-referring to ss 71–72).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/41
220Master Ex-Ship LNG Sales Agreement, Cheniere Marketing Inc / Gaz de France International Trading SAS (SEC Exhibit 10.2, 2007), cll 13(1)(d), 13(3).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/31
221Master LNG Sale and Purchase Agreement, Centrica LNG Company Ltd / NFE North Trading Ltd, 20 December 2016 (SEC Exhibit 10.16), ss 11.2(a)(ii), 11.7, 11.8.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/32
222Argus, 3 March 2026 (Petronet’s “Disha”, loaded 1 March, “still waiting near the terminal”; letters to other buyers “are not official force majeure notices”); Euronews, 31 August 2026 (Edison: 29 cargoes affected, 21 replaced; Qatar exported 18 cargoes in six months against 509); Business Standard, 13 August 2026 (Petronet); Teleborsa (Edison statement), 28 September 2026 (six further cargoes; force majeure period early April to early December; 35 cargoes, about 4.6 bcm).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/33, 07-Forms/35, 01-Facts/53, 12-Update/38
223FIDIC, “COVID-19 Guidance Memorandum to Users of FIDIC Standard Forms of Works Contract”, April 2020 (the four-limb test; “Performance of obligations is more difficult, onerous or disrupted, but not necessarily prevented”); FIDIC 1999 cll 19.1, 19.4, 19.6, 19.7 as reproduced in Quinn Emanuel, “FIDIC Terms in the Context of COVID-19” (2020) (secondary reproduction of licensed text); Clarke, “Covid-19 and FIDIC contracts”, Construction Law International (2020) (28-day continuing notices under 2017 cl 18.2).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/41, 07-Forms/42, 07-Forms/40
224NEC, “Covid-19 risks and NEC4 ECC contracts – a legal perspective”, 15 June 2020 (cl 60.1(19) text; cl 61.3).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/44
225Construction Management (CIOB), “How JCT contracts are affected by the coronavirus” (2020), on JCT Design and Build 2016 cl 2.26.14 (secondary; JCT text not opened).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/45
226ICC, “ICC Force Majeure and Hardship Clauses”, March 2020, Force Majeure Clause paras 1, 3, 8; Hardship Clause para 2 and options 3A–3C.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/46
227GAFTA Contract No. 24 (effective 1 October 2025), cl 22 and Insurance cl (h) (gafta.com). GAFTA 100 itself was not opened.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/48
228Public Company Rise v Nibulon SA [2015] EWHC 684 (Comm) at ¶¶36–37, 53 (Hamblen J); Seagrain LLC v Glencore Grain BV [2013] EWCA Civ 1627 at ¶¶27–29 (Beatson LJ).
229Joint War Committee Circular JWLA-033, 3 March 2026 (“The application of this list on individual contracts will be a matter for specific negotiation”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/01
230Institute War and Strikes Clauses Hulls-Time 1/11/95 (CL281), cl 6.1; The Swedish Club, War Risk Circular No. 450/2026, 3 March 2026 (notice of cancellation effective 00:01 GMT 8 March 2026; cover “reinstated subject to the following amendments”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/08, 08-Insurance/11
231LMA, Joint War Committee page (“Gulf conflict”); Howden, “Strait of Hormuz: marine war market offering cover for vessels in high-risk areas”, 19 March 2026.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/14, 08-Insurance/27
232Skuld, General Notice of Cancellation, 1 March 2026 (effective 5 March; buy-back from 9 March); Steamship Mutual, “War Risks Cover: FAQs”, 4 March 2026 (sub-limits US$250m Gulf, US$200m Red Sea); UK P&I Club Circular 14/26, 12 August 2026 (Red Sea).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/18, 08-Insurance/19, 08-Insurance/22
233UK P&I Club Circular 02/26, 9 February 2026 (US$500m excess war cover; bio-chem sub-limit US$30m); Steamship Mutual FAQs, 4 March 2026; Howden Re, 27 March 2026, p 11.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/21, 08-Insurance/19, 08-Insurance/16
234Howden Re, Strait of Hormuz report, 27 March 2026, pp 11–14 (Lloyd’s CEO: “~5% of vessel value, roughly five times the level seen in the earliest days of the war”); S&P Global Commodity Insights, 30 March 2026 (2.5 per cent per seven-day period at the peak; stranded tankers up to 10 per cent; a laden Suezmax paying $7.5m against $6.5m freight); The National, 17 July 2026 (Marsh: 3 to 10 per cent).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/16, 08-Insurance/37, 08-Insurance/15
235Joint War Committee Circular JWLA-034, 29 July 2026; LMA JWC page (“The JWC has adjusted the Red Sea notification line northwards to reflect this development”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/02, 08-Insurance/14
236Joint War Committee Circular JWLA-035, 16 September 2026; LMA, Joint War Committee page, accessed 10 October 2026.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 10-Update/24, 12-Update/63
237Reuters (J Saul) via Insurance Journal, 25 September 2026; S&P Global Platts interview with Lars Lange (IUMI) via Hellenic Shipping News, 25 September 2026. I have found no reported premium figure for 1–10 October, when the attacks were at their highest.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/78, 12-Update/75
238IWSC Hulls-Time 1/11/95, cl 1.1, 1.5; Gard Rule 58 (P&I war exclusion, mirroring ITC Hulls 1/10/83 cl 23); Steamship Mutual FAQs, 4 March 2026.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/08, 08-Insurance/17, 08-Insurance/19
239IWSC Hulls-Time 1/11/95, cll 3, 5.5.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/08
240The Swedish Club, War Risk Circular No. 451/2026, 31 July 2026, para 3 (“Blocking & Trapping”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/12
241IWSC Hulls-Time 1/11/95, cll 5.1.1, 6.2.1; The Swedish Club, Clauses for War Risk 2026, W.1.4 cl 2.1; Steamship Mutual FAQs (Rule 21 iii b); Kilpatrick, “Revisiting the Five Powers War Risk Exclusion”, NUS CML WP 24/01 (2024).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/08, 08-Insurance/13, 08-Insurance/19, 08-Insurance/09
242Institute War Clauses (Cargo) 1/1/09 (CL385), cll 1, 3.5, 3.7, 5.1–5.3, 5.5, 7.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/23
243LMA, Joint Cargo Committee page, “Conflict in the Gulf”.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/26
244Institute Bulk Oil Clauses (Cl 273, 1/2/83), cl 6; BP GTC 2015, s 12.2.2.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/25, 08-Insurance/42
245See paragraphs 103(c) and 105 above; CONWARTIME 2013 cl (d); VOYWAR 2013 cl (e)(ii) (premium after discharge “until the Vessel leaves such area”); SHELLVOY 6 cl 34(5); SHELLTIME 4 cl 34.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 07-Forms/02, 07-Forms/03, 07-Forms/29, 07-Forms/28
246BP GTC 2015, ss 12.3.1, 12.3.2(a)(ii).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/42
247OFAC FAQ 1249 (28 April 2026, updated 29 May 2026); OFAC Alert, “Sanctions Risks of Iranian Demands for Strait of Hormuz Passage”, updated 24 August 2026; US Treasury press release, 27 May 2026.
248Council of the EU press releases, 22 May and 8 June 2026 (text obtained via a summariser; re-check before quoting); HM Government, “Support for IRGC outlawed in crackdown on foreign state proxies”, 13 July 2026; LMA Sanctions and Terrorism Tables, 23 July 2026 (the UK has designated but not proscribed the IRGC).
249OFAC, Recent Actions, 10 September 2026; US Treasury press release sb0629, 14 September 2026.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 10-Update/25, 10-Update/26
250US Treasury press release sb0643 and E.O. 13902 sector determinations, 1 October 2026; OFAC Alert, “Notice to Foreign Financial Institutions Conducting Business with Iran”, 5 October 2026; US Treasury press release sb0653, 8 October 2026, OFAC Recent Actions, 8 October 2026, and General License EE.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/61, 12-Update/60, 12-Update/59, 12-Update/58
251HM Treasury/OFSI, “Presumption of denial of licence applications for designated Iranian banks”, 23 September 2026, and UK Financial Sanctions FAQ 204.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 12-Update/67
252LMA5708, Strait of Hormuz Transit Fee Condition, 23 July 2026, paras 1–3; LMA Guidance Note, 23 July 2026, paras 2–5, 8.
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/03, 08-Insurance/04
253BIMCO Sanctions Clause for Time Charter Parties 2020, cll (a), (e)–(f); Voyage version, cl (e); NorthStandard FAQs, 2 April 2026; Steamship Mutual (Barnes), “Strait of Hormuz: Sanctions Considerations”, 14 May 2026 (club cover ceases where employment becomes “prohibited, unlawful or sanctionable”).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/47, 08-Insurance/48, 07-Forms/20, 08-Insurance/20
254OFAC, Recent Action 7 July 2026 and Iran General License X1; Clyde & Co, 8 July 2026 (secondary).
255The Iran (Sanctions) (Amendment) Regulations 2026, SI 2026/983 (made 7 September 2026; reg 1(2) in force 29 September 2026), inserting regs 17C, 31J, 31K(1), 31L(1), 31N(1), 33E(1) into the Iran (Sanctions) (Nuclear) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019 (Part 2 of the amending SI); Explanatory Note; HM Government, Notice to Exporters 2026/18, 8 September 2026 (confirming commencement on 29 September 2026); FCDO, “Iran: list of designations and sanctions notices” (last updated 13 July 2026, accessed 10 October 2026; the UK Sanctions List itself was not searched).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/54, 10-Update/28, 12-Update/64, 12-Update/66
256LMA3100 and LMA3200 as quoted by DAC Beachcroft, 18 October 2023 (secondary; the LMA wordings are login-protected); Mamancochet Mining Ltd v Aegis Managing Agency Ltd [2018] EWHC 2643 (Comm) at ¶¶47, 50, 77 (Teare J); The Swedish Club, Clauses for War Risk 2026, W.10.
257UCP 600, art 36, and ICC Banking Commission Technical Advisory Briefing No. 15 (27 July 2026), as reported by Documentary Credit World (Byrnes), 12 August 2026 (secondary; the Briefing itself not opened).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/30
258Celestial Aviation Services Ltd v UniCredit Bank GmbH [2024] EWCA Civ 628 at ¶¶4, 66, 68, 103, 105–106.
259IEA press releases, 11 and 15 March 2026 (text via summariser); US DOE press releases, 13 March and 30 April 2026.
260OPIS, “FACTBOX: Countries Impose Fuel Export Restrictions During Global Energy Crisis”, 15 July 2026 (secondary).
Online sourceNot reproduced: 08-Insurance/39
261Holcim [2011] SGCA 1 at [101].
← Back to the paper

This site measures how its pages are used, so they can be improved. Nothing is used for advertising. You can read the detail or opt out at any time.